Use print mailings exclusively: 5 tips for success

Is the classic printed mailing a relic of days gone by? Especially in the world of online marketing, the view prevails that digital advertising is cheaper, more efficient and can be better designed. But time has not stood still when it comes to the printing and design of print mailings. Flyers, brochures and catalogues can actually have tangible advantages over their digital equivalents. What these are and what you should pay attention to with print mailings, we reveal to you in the following!

Print mailings: old-fashioned or eye-catching?

The printing technology used today is more modern than ever and enables a variety of options for action. Whether flyers, brochures or extensive mail-order catalogues, both the design and the number of items can be completely adapted to the individual wishes of the advertiser. But of all things, it is the digital world with its countless possibilities that has given the classic print mailing an edge: It stands out.

information overload

Whether via PC, laptop, tablet or smartphone - information and especially advertising reach us in large quantities every day. For good reason, this is referred to as digital "information overload". Advertising has become so ubiquitous on the Internet that it is hardly noticed anymore and is usually pushed aside or clicked away. And this is often completely independent of whether the content is interesting for the user or not. So it may come as no surprise that the good old mailbox is once again taking center stage.

Something in the form of a print mailing, and thus not carried to you from the digital sphere, appears "real", can be perceived haptically and, moreover, cannot simply be clicked away. If it is a high-quality and tastefully designed print product, it arouses curiosity in the addressee.

Print mailings and its effect on the target group

The fact that the classic print mailing does not miss its effect is shown by the current CMC Dialogpost study in cooperation with Deutsche Post. This concludes that a conversion rate of just under 5 % can be achieved with print products. In addition, customers who visit an online shop as a result of a print mailing spend an average of 8 % more money.

And while advertising e-mails are no longer noticed after 48 hours at the latest, printed products can continue to attract attention for weeks after delivery. So there are plenty of reasons to use printed advertising materials. Here are a few tips that you should keep in mind.

1. clear objectives

Any solid planning is based on the most precise objective possible, which you should not lose sight of throughout the process. Keep in mind that a print mailing should always be part of your overall strategy. For example, do you want to acquire new customers? Or support an existing online campaign, focusing on activating your existing customers? You should always have a common thread that provides orientation and leads you to your goal.

2. integration into a cross-channel campaign

Once you have defined a concrete objective for your campaign, you can start thinking about the implementation. It is advisable to integrate your print mailing into a cross-channel campaign. While the offline channel offers many advantages, as already explained, a combination with digital marketing measures makes sense. For example, you can use a QR code or short link in the mailing to forward to a landing page. Or you can follow up the contacts you have written to using social media remarketing.

3. create a special experience

Print mailings offer you a special way of addressing your target group. If you design your print materials accordingly graphically and haptically, you create a special experience for your target group. Think not only about the mailing itself, but also about the packaging. With an appealing and unusual design, you can already generate attention here. A high-quality print mailing also awakens a feeling of exclusivity and appreciation in your target group.

4. address the right target group

A top-designed print mailing only leads to the desired success if you also address the right target group. The selection of the correct B2B addresses is therefore essential. By using selected mailing lists and premium leads, you can reduce wastage to a minimum. In doing so, a high-quality provider of fimenadresses such as beadress.com support. Detailed selection criteria allow you to define your Precisely determine the target group. This ensures that your print products reach the right recipients and can unfold their full effect.

5. find the right time

Carefully determine when your customers will receive a print mailing from you. The goal is to pick up the prospect at the best possible time within the customer journey in order to maximize the success of the campaign. For example, this can be timed to a specific event or a reminder mailing after a shopping cart abandonment.

With the right strategy and appealing print mailings, you can attract attention and increase your conversion rate. It is important that you select the target group for your mailings correctly. Only then will your print campaign hit the mark!

Table of contents

Author Michael Färbinger

Senior Key Account Manager

Michael Färbinger supports and advises you in your Sales, dialogue and marketing campaigns with precise B2B target group selections, market and database analyses. He will also be happy to advise you on our Integration solutions in different CRM systems.

Printmailings exklusiv einsetzen: 5 Tipps für den Erfolg

Ist das klassisch gedruckte Printmailing ein Relikt aus vergangenen Tagen? Gerade in der Welt des Online-Marketings herrscht die Ansicht, digitale Werbung sei preiswerter, effizienter und ließe sich besser gestalten. Aber bei Druck und Design von Printmailings ist die Zeit nicht stehen geblieben. Flyer, Prospekte und Kataloge können gegenüber ihren digitalen Entsprechungen sogar handfeste Vorteile aufweisen. Welche das sind und worauf Sie bei Printmailings unbedingt achten sollten, verraten wir Ihnen im Folgenden!

Printmailings: Altbacken oder auffällig?

Die heute verwendete Drucktechnik ist moderner denn je und ermöglicht eine Vielfalt an Handlungsoptionen. Ob Flyer, Prospekte oder umfangreiche Versandkataloge, sowohl das Design als auch die Stückzahl lassen sich ganz den individuellen Wünschen des Werbetreibenden anpassen. Aber ausgerechnet die digitale Welt mit ihren zahllosen Möglichkeiten ist es, die dem klassischen Printmailing einen Vorteil beschert hat: Es fällt auf.

Information Overload

Sei es über PC, Laptop, Tablet oder Smartphone – Informationen und vor allem Werbung erreichen uns tagtäglich in großer Menge. Aus gutem Grund spricht man hier von einem digitalen „Information Overload“. Werbung ist im Internet mittlerweile so allgegenwärtig, dass sie kaum mehr auffällt, meist beiseitegeschoben oder weggeklickt wird. Und das oftmals völlig unabhängig davon, ob deren Inhalt für den Nutzer interessant ist oder nicht. Da mag es auch nicht weiter verwundern, wenn der gute alte Briefkasten wieder in den Mittelpunkt rückt.

Was in Form von einem Printmailing und damit nicht aus der digitalen Sphäre zu einem getragen wurde, wirkt „echt“, lässt sich haptisch wahrnehmen und darüber hinaus auch nicht einfach wegklicken. Handelt es sich dabei um ein hochwertiges und geschmackvoll gestaltetes Druckerzeugnis, erweckt es die Neugier im Adressaten.

Printmailings und seine Wirkung auf die Zielgruppe

Dass das klassische Printmailing seine Wirkung nicht verfehlt, zeigt die aktuelle CMC Dialogpost-Studie in Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Post. Diese kommt zu dem Schluss, dass sich mit Druckerzeugnissen eine Conversion Rate von knapp 5 % erzielen lässt. Außerdem geben Kunden, die aufgrund von einem Printmailing einen Onlineshop aufsuchen, im Schnitt 8 % mehr Geld aus.

Und während Werbe-E-Mails nach spätestens 48 Stunden gar nicht mehr beachtet werden, können Druckerzeugnisse noch Wochen nach der Zustellung für Aufmerksamkeit sorgen. Es gibt also genug Gründe, die für gedruckte Werbemittel sprechen. Im Folgenden ein paar Tipps, die Sie dabei beachten sollten.

1. Klare Zielsetzung

Jede solide Planung basiert auf einer möglichst präzisen Zielsetzung, die Sie während des gesamten Prozesses nicht aus den Augen verlieren sollten. Beachten Sie, dass ein Printmailing immer Teil Ihrer Gesamtstrategie sein sollte. Möchten Sie beispielsweise Neukunden hinzugewinnen? Oder eine bestehende Online-Kampagne unterstützen und dabei den Fokus auf die Aktivierung Ihrer Bestandskunden legen? Sie sollten stets einen roten Faden haben, der Orientierung bietet und Sie zum Ziel führt.

2. Integration in eine Cross-Channel-Kampagne

Haben Sie eine konkrete Zielsetzung für Ihre Kampagne definiert, können Sie sich Gedanken über die Umsetzung machen. Dabei ist es empfehlenswert, ihr Printmailing in eine Cross-Channel-Kampagne zu integrieren. Während der Offline-Kanal wie bereits erläutert viele Vorteile bietet, ist eine Kombination mit digitalen Marketingmaßnahmen sinnvoll. Beispielsweise können Sie im Mailing mittel QR-Code oder Shortlink auf eine Landingpage weiterleiten. Oder Sie fassen die angeschriebenen Kontakte mittels Social Media Remarketing nach.

3. Schaffen Sie ein besonderes Erlebnis

Printmailings bieten Ihnen eine besondere Art der Ansprache. Wenn Sie Ihre Printmaterialien entsprechend graphisch und haptisch gestalten, schaffen Sie für Ihre Zielgruppe ein besonderes Erlebnis. Denken Sie dabei nicht nur an das Mailing selbst, sondern auch an die Verpackung. Durch ein ansprechendes und außergewöhnliches Design können Sie bereits hier Aufmerksamkeit erzeugen. Ein hochwertiges Printmailing weckt zudem ein Gefühl der Exklusivität und Wertschätzung bei Ihrer Zielgruppe.

4. Sprechen Sie die richtige Zielgruppe an

Ein top gestaltetes Printmailing führt nur dann zum gewünschten Erfolg, wenn Sie auch die richtige Zielgruppe ansprechen. Die Auswahl der korrekten B2B-Adressen ist daher essenziell. Durch ausgewählte Mailinglisten und Premium Leads reduzieren Sie die Streuverluste auf ein Minimum. Dabei kann Sie ein hochwertiger Anbieter von Fimenadressen wie beadress.de unterstützen. Durch detaillierte Auswahlkriterien können Sie Ihre Zielgruppe exakt bestimmen. Dadurch treffen Ihre Printprodukte die passenden Empfänger und können Ihre volle Wirkung entfalten.

5. Den richtigen Zeitpunkt finden

Legen Sie mit Bedacht fest, wann Ihre Kunden ein Printmailing von Ihnen erhalten. Ziel ist es, den Interessenten zum bestmöglichen Zeitpunkt innerhalb der Customer Journey abzuholen, um so den maximalen Erfolg der Kampagne herauszuholen. Das kann zum Beispiel zeitlich abgestimmt auf ein bestimmtes Event sein oder ein Reminder-Mailing nach einem Warenkorbabbruch.

Mit der richtigen Strategie und ansprechenden Printmailings wecken Sie Aufmerksamkeit und steigern Ihre Conversion-Rate. Wichtig ist, dass Sie die Zielgruppe für Ihre Mailings richtig selektieren. Nur dann trifft Ihre Printkampagne ins Schwarze!

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Autor Michael Färbinger

Senior Key Account Manager

Michael Färbinger unterstützt und berät Sie in Ihren Vertriebs-, Dialog- und Marketingkampagnen mit präzisen B2B-Zielgruppenselektionen, Markt- und Datenbankanalysen. Gerne berät er Sie auch zu unseren Integrationslösungen in unterschiedlichen CRM-Systemen.