Social Selling - A marathon and not a sprint

Social Selling - A marathon and not a sprint

Be where your contacts are. That is, in a nutshell, the summary of my Article about Social Selling in B2B from the past year. Social selling, virtual sales, hybrid selling, remote sales ... behind these terms is a mix of today's sales and consulting channels for sales. The Corona pandemic in particular has drastically strengthened the trend towards hybrid sales.

Social selling as a sales channel

Social selling (also called social commerce) is specifically about using a brand's social media channels. The goal is to get in touch with leads, build a relationship with them by actively posting interesting messages and thus interact with the potential clientele. This tactic helps companies achieve their sales goals.

Social selling should therefore be seen as a modern form of relationship building. If you, as part of the sales team, actively engage with potential customers on social media, you can be the first brand they consider, provided they are ready to buy. In addition, you can use social selling to complement, and perhaps even replace, traditional relationship-building and sales methods such as cold calling.

What Social Selling is not

Social selling is not about bombarding strangers with unsolicited messages. That is spam. And that should be avoided, of course. Social selling is also not just about filling your address list with new contacts. Rather, it is important to make the interactions meaningful and to position one's own brand as the solution to a problem. If you succeed in this, you take the first step towards building trust and loyalty.

And where do you find your contacts?

The diversity of social media seems almost infinite. This is shown by the social media prism often mentioned in the relevant professional articles. It is still topical if one wants to visually visualise the quantity and possibilities of the platforms.

 

Despite the large offer, it is advisable to focus on selected networks. The most important starting point for the choice should always be the following question: Where can I find my target group?

In the B2B sector, the leading business platforms are the international network LinkedIn and in the DACH region also XING. In my opinion, LinkedIn is clearly the trend. Here, a modern orientation scores points with regard to user guidance and the offer of many effective tools for marketing and sales. LinkedIn is also a leader in content marketing. In addition, the international orientation offers a wider reach. You are welcome to visit my profile on LinkedIn or follow the beDirect Company Profile.

Best practices for social selling

Regardless of which platform you use to reach your target audience, use proven best practices for your social selling:

  1. Establish your brand by offering added value.

When interacting with leads and customers via social media networks, you should not be too sales-oriented. If your brand is new to a social media platform, don't jump into social selling right away. Before you rush into the sales pitch, you should rather consolidate your position as a Industry expert.

One way to build your brand on social media for social selling is to post interesting, valuable and shareable content. For example, B2B brands and industry influencers could share content from others that fits their brand.
You can also take the initiative and write and publish interesting content with value for others to establish your brand or personal brand as a thought leader in the industry. For example, you share business-specific content that may be of interest to the company's professional network: In principle, you should show your followers that you are not only after your sales - but also want to give something to others: added value.

  1. Engage in strategic listening and build relationships with the right people.

Effective social selling means being attentive. And that means that you absolutely Social Listening should be doing. Social listening means "monitoring" your social media platforms for mentions and conversations related to your brand. You then analyse these to gain insights and discover opportunities for action.

Use social media lists and search streams to track what people are saying about you, your business, your industry and your competitors. Pay particular attention to pain points and requests for recommendations. Both offer you opportunities to provide the solution to a problem.

Whenever possible, you should also use your existing network. Before reaching out to the leads you have identified, check who they are following and who they are following to find common contacts. If this is the case, ask your common contact for an introduction.

  1. Stay authentic.

Instead of writing one message and sending it to countless potentials, take the time to personalise your social selling messages. This means that you

  • refer to your common professional contacts,
  • refer to content that you have both shared or reacted to,
  • highlight a common interest or other commonality.

In other words, be authentic. Establish a connection by starting a genuine conversation. Of course, you could use automated tools for liking and commenting, but these do nothing to build a relationship. On the contrary - they can do serious damage to your personal and professional brand. When it comes to selling, nothing can replace interaction with a real human being.

  1. Behave consistently.

Last but not least, do not expect immediate results. So don't give up immediately if your relationship-building efforts don't produce immediate results. Some contacts may not be ready to accept what you are offering. Stay in touch anyway.

Social Selling Graphic
Source: LeadersMedia advertisement (www.leadersmedia.de)

Conclusion: Reach out to new leads. Reach out to contacts you've been in touch with but haven't heard from in a while. Cultivate meaningful relationships by congratulating people on a new professional position or a move to another company, for example. Also interact with the content they share on social media.

Always be ready to offer advice or help, even if it is not directly promoting your product.

My tip: For whatever network - Your social media profile should be professionally prepared. Take the time for it!

 

Sources:
hootsuite.com: doing social selling right
Podcast Spotify - Social Selling in B2B with Joachim Rumohr 
springerprofessional: what is hybrid selling?
hootsuite.com: What is Social Listening?

Table of contents

Author André Schmidt

head of direct sales

In in his 16 years at beDirect, he has developed today's beDirect-CRM solutions significantly.

He and his team advise you around the issue Data Management. This ranges from optimal configured Standard via customised until complete newly developed Solutions.

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

The beDirect newsletter provides you with regular updates on company information, marketing activities and industry news.
Stay up to date and sign up right away!

Social Selling – Ein Marathon und kein Sprint

Social Selling – Ein Marathon und kein Sprint

Seien Sie dort, wo Ihre Kontakte sind. Das ist abgekürzt das Resümee meines Beitrages über Social Selling im B2B aus dem vergangenen Jahr. Social Selling, Virtual Sales, Hybrid Selling, Remote Sales … hinter diesen Begriffen steht ein Mix der heutigen Vertriebs- und Beratungswege für den Sales. Gerade durch die Corona-Pandemie wurde der Trend zum hybriden Verkauf drastisch verstärkt.

Social Selling als Vertriebskanal

Bei Social Selling (englisch: soziales Verkaufen, auch Social Commerce genannt) geht es konkret um die Nutzung der Social-Media-Kanäle einer Marke. Ziel ist es, mit Leads in Kontakt zu treten, durch aktives Posten interessanter Botschaften eine Beziehung zu ihnen aufzubauen und so mit der potenziellen Kundschaft zu interagieren. Diese Taktik hilft Unternehmen ihre Verkaufsziele zu erreichen.

Social Selling sollte daher als moderne Form des Beziehungsaufbaus betrachtet werden. Wenn Sie als Teil des Sales-Teams in den sozialen Medien aktiv mit möglichen Kund:innen in Kontakt treten, können Sie die erste Marke sein, die Interessierte in Betracht ziehen; vorausgesetzt die Kaufbereitschaft ist vorhanden. Zudem können Sie mit Social Selling herkömmliche Methoden zum Beziehungsaufbau und Vertrieb wie die Kaltakquise ergänzen, vielleicht sogar ersetzen.

Was Social Selling nicht ist

Bei Social Selling geht es nicht darum, Fremde unaufgefordert mit Nachrichten zu bombardieren. Das ist Spam. Und das sollte natürlich vermieden werden. Bei Social Selling geht es auch nicht nur darum, die Adressliste mit neuen Kontakten zu füllen. Wichtig ist vielmehr, die Interaktionen sinnvoll zu gestalten und die eigene Marke als Lösung für ein Problem in Stellung zu bringen. Wem das gelingt, schafft den ersten Schritt zum Aufbau von Vertrauen und Loyalität.

Und wo finden Sie Ihre Kontakte?

Die Vielfalt der sozialen Medien scheint schier unendlich. Dieses zeigt das in den einschlägigen Fachartikeln häufig erwähnte Social-Media-Prisma. Es ist nach wie vor aktuell, wenn man sich die Menge und Möglichkeiten der Plattformen visuell vergegenwärtigen möchte.

 

Trotz des großen Angebotes ist die Fokussierung auf ausgesuchte Netzwerke ratsam. Wichtigster Ansatzpunkt bei der Wahl sollte immer folgende Frage sein: Wo ist meine Zielgruppe zu finden?

Im B2B-Bereich sind die führenden Businessplattformen das internationale Netzwerk LinkedIn und im DACH-Raum auch XING. Im Trend liegt meines Erachtens eindeutig LinkedIn. Hier punktet eine moderne Ausrichtung hinsichtlich der Nutzerführung und das Angebot vieler wirksamer Tools für Marketing und Sales. Auch im Content Marketing ist LinkedIn führend. Zudem bietet die internationale Ausrichtung eine größere Reichweite. Besuchen Sie gern mein Profil auf LinkedIn oder folgen Sie dem beDirect-Unternehmensprofil.

Best Practices für Social Selling

Unabhängig davon, welche Plattform Sie nutzen, um Ihre Zielgruppe zu erreichen — nutzen Sie bewährte Best Practices für Ihr Social Selling:

  1. Etablieren Sie Ihre Marke, indem Sie Mehrwert bieten.

Bei der Interaktion mit Leads und Kund:innen über Social-Media-Netzwerke sollten Sie nicht zu sehr verkaufsorientiert agieren. Ist Ihre Marke neu auf einer Social-Media-Plattform, sollten Sie nicht sofort in Social Selling einsteigen. Bevor Sie sich in den Sales-Pitch stürzen, festigen Sie lieber Ihre Position als Branchenexperte.

Eine Möglichkeit Ihre Marke in sozialen Medien für das Social Selling aufzubauen, ist das Veröffentlichen interessanter, wertvoller und zum Teilen anregender Inhalte. B2B-Marken und Branchen-Influencer könnten beispielsweise Content von anderen teilen, der zu ihrer Marke passt.
Sie können aber auch selbst Hand anlegen und interessanten Content mit Nutzwert für andere schreiben und veröffentlichen, um Ihre Marke oder persönliche Marke als Thought Leader (Meinungsführer) der Branche zu etablieren. Sie teilen beispielsweise geschäftsspezifische Inhalte, die für das professionelle Netzwerk des Unternehmens interessant sein könnten: Prinzipiell sollten Sie Ihrer Followerschaft zeigen, dass Sie nicht nur auf Ihren Umsatz aus sind — sondern auch anderen etwas geben wollen: einen Mehrwert.

  1. Betreiben Sie strategisches Listening und bauen Sie Beziehungen zu den richtigen Personen auf.

Effektives Social Selling bedeutet, aufmerksam zu sein. Und das heißt, dass Sie unbedingt Social Listening betreiben sollten. Social Listening bedeutet, dass Sie Ihre Social-Media-Plattformen auf Erwähnungen und Konversationen im Zusammenhang mit Ihrer Marke „überwachen“. Diese analysieren Sie anschließend, um Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen und Handlungsmöglichkeiten zu entdecken.

Verwenden Sie Social-Media-Listen und Suchstreams, um zu verfolgen, was die Menschen über Sie, Ihr Unternehmen, Ihre Branche und Ihre Mitbewerber:innen sagen. Achten Sie besonders auf Pain Points und Anfragen nach Empfehlungen. Beides bieten Ihnen Chancen, die Lösung für ein Problem zu liefern.

Wann immer möglich, sollten Sie auch Ihr bestehendes Netzwerk nutzen. Bevor Sie sich an die von Ihnen identifizierten Leads wenden, überprüfen Sie, wer diesen Personen folgt und wem sie folgen, um gemeinsame Kontakte zu finden. Wenn das der Fall ist, bitten Sie Ihren gemeinsamen Kontakt um eine Vorstellung.

  1. Bleiben Sie authentisch.

Statt eine Nachricht zu schreiben und diese an unzählige Potenziale zu senden, sollten Sie sich die Zeit nehmen, Ihre Social-Selling-Nachrichten zu personalisieren. Das bedeutet, dass Sie

  • auf Ihre gemeinsamen beruflichen Kontakte Bezug nehmen,
  • sich auf einen Inhalt beziehen, den Sie beide geteilt oder darauf reagiert haben,
  • ein gemeinsames Interesse oder eine andere Gemeinsamkeit hervorheben.

Anders gesagt: Seien Sie authentisch. Stellen Sie eine Verbindung her, indem Sie ein echte Unterhaltung beginnen. Natürlich könnten Sie auch automatisierte Tools zum Liken und Kommentieren einsetzen, aber diese tragen nicht zum Aufbau einer Beziehung bei. Im Gegenteil – Sie können Ihrer persönlichen und professionellen Marke schweren Schaden zufügen. Wenn es ums Verkaufen geht, kann nichts die Interaktion mit einem echten Menschen ersetzen.

  1. Verhalten Sie sich konsequent.

Zu guter Letzt sollten Sie nicht mit sofortigen Ergebnissen rechnen. Geben Sie also nicht gleich auf, wenn Ihre Bemühungen zum Aufbau von Beziehungen nicht umgehend zu Resultaten führen. Manche Kontakte sind vielleicht noch nicht bereit, das anzunehmen, was Sie anbieten. Bleiben Sie trotzdem in Kontakt.

Social Selling Grafik
Quelle: Anzeige LeadersMedia (www.leadersmedia.de)

Fazit: Sprechen Sie neue Leads noch einmal an. Melden Sie sich bei Kontakten, mit denen Sie bereits in Verbindung waren, von denen Sie aber schon längere Zeit nichts gehört haben. Pflegen Sie sinnvolle Beziehungen, indem Sie Leuten beispielsweise zu einer neuen beruflichen Position oder dem Wechsel in ein anderes Unternehmen gratulieren. Interagieren Sie auch mit dem Content, den sie auf sozialen Medien teilen.

Seien Sie stets bereit, Rat oder Hilfe anzubieten, auch wenn Sie damit nicht direkt Ihr Produkt bewerben.

Mein Tipp: Für welches Netzwerk auch immer – Ihr Social-Media-Profil sollte professionell ausgearbeitet sein. Nehmen Sie sich die Zeit dafür!

 

Quellen:
hootsuite.com: social selling richtig machen
Podcast Spotify – Social Selling im B2B mit Joachim Rumohr 
springerprofessional: was ist eigentlich hybrid selling
hootsuite.com: Was ist Social Listening

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Autor André Schmidt

Head of Direct Sales

In seinen 16 Jahren bei beDirect hat er die heutigen beDirect-CRM-Lösungen maßgeblich mit geprägt.

Er und sein Team beraten Sie rund um das Thema Data Management. Dies erstreckt sich von optimal konfigurierten Standard- über kundenindividuelle bis komplett neuentwickelte Lösungen.

Jetzt unseren Newsletter abonnieren!

Der beDirect Newsletter liefert Ihnen regelmäßig aktuelles Wissen zu Unternehmensinformationen, Marketingaktivitäten und Branchennews.
Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden und melden Sie sich gleich an!