Trends in digital marketing

Salesforce Report

Salesforce surveyed more than 4,100 marketers worldwide on strategic digital marketing priorities, challenges, and technologies. The survey » State of Marketing was carried out for the fifth time and illustrates the changes in terms of data volumes, communication channels and knowledge about customers and target groups.

Overall trend first: The consumer experience with businesses is as relevant to 80% as the products and services themselves, and based on this trend, the customer experience is the key moment in all activities, which will have a significant impact on the future of digital marketing.

Trend 1: Collaboration

Interdepartmental cooperation continues to increase

Customer Experience is a team sport! only the collaboration between marketing, sales, service and other departments enables customer experiences that meet the different requirements. this can be seen, for example, in the joint processing of enquiries and complaints that customers increasingly transmit via social media. in this context, 55% of the respondents see collaboration between marketing and sales. for more knowledge about customers and their needs, about the same number of companies exchange customer data within their departments (54%). nevertheless, 45% of the respondents worldwide and 36% in germany see marketing as the main area of responsibility.

Trend 2: Second Party Data

More and more data sources require merging

what needs does my customer have? what offers can i make that fit exactly? companies are looking for answers to these questions and can find them in the existing data about their customers. but not only in their own data, but increasingly also in the so-called second party data, which comes from partner companies or various platforms. the more pieces of the puzzle come together, the more comprehensible the picture about the customer becomes. while 69% use second party data worldwide, in germany it is 58%. data management platforms are also increasingly used, according to 55% of the marketing organizations.

Trend 3: Automation

Artificial intelligence and trust are the foundation

If customers are addressed personally thanks to artificial intelligence, this has positive effects: Worldwide 29% and in Germany 39% of the marketing managers have made experiences with the use of AI. 92% of the study participants observe positive effects in brand building and 85% of the study participants see an optimization of customer loyalty. The crux of the matter is the trust of the customers with regard to data protection, which is why companies have some catching up to do in this area.

Trend 4: Relationship management

Real-time cross-channel interaction as a target

addressing customers where they really are. a challenge, if you think of the constantly growing number of digital touchpoints. in order to be able to decide where and when customers are best addressed, a 360° view of the customer plays an increasingly important role. 52% of the respondents see it that way and rely on direct feedback from their customers. in this context, 52% of the companies enter into a real-time dialogue. however, only 28% are satisfied with these measures; the majority act rather insecurely between the different contact possibilities.

Would you like more information about the possibilities of data-controlled processes and a 360° view of your customers? 

Integration solution

Permanently secure the achieved quality standard of your customer database - online in your address management system.

Table of contents

Trends im digitalen Marketing

Salesforce Report

Salesforce hat weltweit mehr als 4.100 Marketingverantwortliche zu strategischen Prioritäten, Herausforderungen und Technologien im digitalen Marketing befragt. Die Umfrage » State of Marketing wurde zum fünften Mal durchgeführt und macht die Veränderungen in Hinblick auf Datenmengen, Kommunikationskanäle und das Wissen über Kunden und Zielgruppen deutlich.

Übergeordneter Trend vorab: Die Erfahrungen, die Verbraucher mit Unternehmen machen, sind für 80% ebenso so relevant, wie die Produkte und Dienstleistungen selbst. Ausgehend von diesem Trend ist das Kundenerlebnis bei allen Aktivitäten entscheidendes Moment, das sich maßgeblich auf die Zukunft des digitalen Marketings auswirkt.

Trend 1: Kollaboration

Abteilungsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit nimmt weiter zu

Customer Experience ist ein Mannschaftssport! Nur die Kollaboration zwischen Marketing, Vertrieb, Service sowie weiteren Abteilungen ermöglicht Kundenerlebnisse, die den unterschiedlichen Anforderungen gerecht werden. Das zeigt sich beispielsweise an der gemeinsamen Bearbeitung von Anfragen und Beschwerden, die Kunden zunehmend über Soziale Medien übermitteln. In diesem Zusammenhang kommt es bei 55% der Befragten zu einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen Marketing und Sales. Für Mehr Wissen über Kunden und ihre Bedürfnisse tauschen etwa genauso viele Unternehmen innerhalb ihrer Abteilungen (54%) Kundendaten aus. Dennoch sehen weltweit 45% und in Deutschland 36% der Befragten den Hauptverantwortungsbereich im Marketing.

Trend 2: Second-Party-Daten

Immer mehr Datenquellen verlangen nach Zusammenführung

Welche Bedürfnisse hat mein Kunde? Welche Angebote kann ich passgenau unterbreiten? Unternehmen suchen Antworten auf diese Fragen und finden Sie in den vorhandenen Daten über Ihre Kunden. Aber nicht nur in den eigenen Daten, sondern zunehmend auch in den sogenannten Second-Party-Daten, die von Partnerunternehmen oder diverse Plattformen stammen. Je mehr Puzzleteile zusammenkommen, desto verständlicher wird das Bild über den Kunden. Während weltweit 69% Second-Party-Daten nutzen, sind es in Deutschland 58%. Auch Data-Management-Plattformen werden zunehmend eingesetzt, so 55% der Marketing-Organisationen.

Trend 3: Automatisierung

Künstliche Intelligenz und Vertrauen sind die Grundlage

Wenn Kunden dank künstlicher Intelligenz persönlich angesprochen werden, hat das positive Auswirkungen: Weltweit haben 29% und in Deutschland 39% der Marketingverantwortlichen mit dem Einsatz von KI Erfahrungen gemacht. Hierbei beobachten 92% der Studienteilnehmer positive Effekte beim Markenaufbau und 85% der Studienteilnehmer sehen eine Optimierung der Kundenbindung. Knackpunkt ist das Vertrauen der Kunden hinsichtlich Datenschutz, weshalb Unternehmen in diesem Punkt Nachholbedarf haben.

Trend 4: Beziehungsmanagement

Kanalübergreifende Interaktion in Echtzeit als Ziel

Kunden da ansprechen, wo sie auch wirklich sind. Eine Herausforderung, denkt man an die stetig wachsende Menge an digitalen Touchpoints. Um entscheiden zu können, wo und wann Kunden am besten angesprochen werden, spielt eine 360°-Sicht auf den Kunden eine immer wichtigere Rolle. Das sehen auch 52% der Befragten so und setzen auf ein direktes Feedback ihrer Kunden. In diesem Zusammenhang treten 52% der Unternehmen in einen Realtime-Dialog. Zufrieden mit diesen Maßnahmen sind aber nur 28%; die Mehrheit agiert eher unsicher zwischen den verschiedenen Kontaktmöglichkeiten.

Sie wünschen weitere Informationen zu den Möglichkeiten datengesteuerter Prozesse und einer 360°-Sicht auf ihre Kunden? 

Integrationslösung

Sichern Sie dauerhaft den erreichten Qualitätsstandard Ihrer Kundendatenbank – online in Ihrem adressführenden System.

Inhaltsverzeichnis