Why database cleansing is so important for business success

The success of a company depends on numerous individual parts. One of them is the data substance about your business contacts. If you have a B2B database, you inevitably have to think about cleaning and updating this data. Because only complete and correct data is a success factor that allows your marketing and sales to act in a credible and sustainable manner. So how can the Clean records and reliably up to date? Below you will find answers to these important questions and an informative overview of the topic of database cleaning. From the general objectives to the concrete added value for your company, all aspects are briefly examined.

The most important goals of data cleansing

At the beginning of all considerations, the question arises as to what purpose the cleansing of the data should serve. One of the overriding goals is to search for possible errors such as incorrect or outdated addresses.

  • Correct postal addresses mean higher delivery rates and, as a result, lower return rates and savings on unnecessary costs.
  • The removal of duplicate entries in the database is also an important goal of database cleansing. Wrong deliveries due to duplicate customer accounts are thus no longer possible.
  • The enrichment of missing and required additional information, e.g. industry codes, number of employees or turnover, could be another goal of your database cleansing. While marketing and sales need company information to better select new customer potential, finance departments often want support in obtaining credit reports. The enrichment of unique account numbers of the credit agency in the customer accounts simplifies the processing.
  • Furthermore, it is a matter of checking the coherence and interrelationships of all available data records. In practice, this puts your sales team in the comfortable position of being able to recognise company interdependencies and use them to their advantage in the acquisition phase.

The individual steps in detail

Professional database cleaning is based on four different tasks. The basis is the concrete definition of the Data quality requirements of all user groups that work with the data. Depending on the individual demands on the result, the following must be considered B2B data audit various criteria must be taken into account. What data should be collected and what requirements should be met? In this phase, each user group defines, among other things, the scope, data depth, use and benefit of the required data. The project team compiles this information and creates the requirements catalogue.

The second step is about the Analysis of the currently available data sets against the background of the previously defined requirements. Checklists are therefore used to examine the extent to which the already existing data meet the defined quality requirements. Are the data complete, are there gaps and what about the uniformity of the data? As a result of this data analysis, all quality problems of the current data stock are recorded and prioritised. After the creation of a backup, the actual data analysis takes place. Implementation of the clean-up and enrichment. The following graphic shows an example of the database cleaning process:

 

Infographic: Stages of master data management (copyright beDirect, 2022)

Underground plan of the database clean-up.
Step by step to database maintenance: clean, enrich and monitor addresses.

 

The final step is to maintain the database quality achieved. Through regular Monitoring the status quo of the information can be maintained. The investment in time and money in monitoring is comparatively small in relation to the initial database cleansing, but necessary with approx. 1 million changes in German companies per year due to address changes, changes in managing directors or insolvencies/deletions.

Final additions to the database clean-up

In conclusion, it can be said that the targeted cleansing of your database offers your company numerous benefits. The availability of correct and relevant data records relieves the sales department and at the same time enables target-oriented acquisition. Your marketing campaigns and SEA activities (e.g. Match Audiences) focus on promising address potential and are therefore more efficient.

Both I and the other database experts from beDirect are at your side as a knowledgeable and experienced partner in this project. We take over the entire preparation and practical implementation of the data cleansing for you. Follow our how-to tips! 

Please also note our Webinar offer: We regularly provide live information about our products and possibilities in the optimal handling of B2B addresses, master data and target group management.

 

Sources:
How to improve your data quality, Gartner
B2B data management, jk development

The enterprise-wide usable database, beDirect
What is data cleansing? bigdata-insider

Table of contents

Author André Schmidt

head of direct sales

In in his 16 years at beDirect, he has developed today's beDirect-CRM solutions significantly.

He and his team advise you around the issue Data Management. This ranges from optimal configured Standard via customised until complete newly developed Solutions.

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

The beDirect newsletter provides you with regular updates on company information, marketing activities and industry news.
Stay up to date and sign up right away!

Warum Datenbankbereinigung so wichtig für den Unternehmenserfolg ist

Der Erfolg eines Unternehmens hängt von zahlreichen Einzelteilen ab. Eines davon ist die Datensubstanz über Ihre Geschäftskontakte. Wer eine B2B-Datenbank hat, muss zwangsläufig über die Bereinigung und Aktualisierung dieser Daten nachdenken. Denn nur vollständige und korrekte Daten sind ein Erfolgsfaktor, der Ihr Marketing und Sales glaubwürdig und zukunftsfähig agieren lässt. Wie lassen sich also die Datensätze bereinigen und zuverlässig auf dem neusten Stand halten? Folgend erhalten Sie Antworten auf diese wichtigen Fragen und einen informativen Überblick rund um das Thema Datenbankbereinigung. Von der allgemeinen Zielsetzung bis hin zu den konkreten Mehrwerten für Ihr Unternehmen werden alle Teilaspekte kurz beleuchtet.

Die wichtigsten Ziele der Datenbereinigung

Zu Beginn aller Überlegungen stellt sich die Frage, welchen Zweck die Bereinigung der Daten erfüllen soll. Eines der übergeordneten Ziele ist die Suche nach möglichen Fehlern wie falschen oder veralteten Adressen.

  • Korrekte postalische Anschriften bedeuten höhere Zustellquoten und damit einhergehend sinkende Retourenquoten und das Sparen unnötiger Kosten.
  • Auch die Entfernung von doppelten Einträgen in der Datenbank ist ein wichtiges Ziel der Datenbankbereinigung. Falschlieferungen aufgrund doppelter Kundenaccounts sind somit nicht mehr möglich.
  • Die Anreicherung von fehlenden und benötigten Zusatzinformationen, z.B. Branchencodes, Anzahl Mitarbeiter oder Umsatz, könnte ein weiteres Ziel Ihrer Datenbankbereinigung sein. Während Marketing und Sales Unternehmensinformationen zur besseren Selektion von Neukundenpotenzial benötigen, wünschen Financeabteilungen oft Unterstützung bei der Einholung von Bonitätsauskünften. Die Anreicherung eindeutiger Accountnummern der Auskunftei in den Kundenaccounts vereinfacht die Abwicklung.
  • Des Weiteren geht es um eine Kontrolle der Stimmigkeit und der Zusammenhänge aller vorliegenden Datensätze. In der Praxis versetzen sie Ihren Sales damit in die komfortable Lage Unternehmensverflechtungen zu erkennen und in der Akquise-Phase für sich zu nutzen.

Die einzelnen Schritte im Detail

Eine professionelle Datenbankbereinigung basiert auf vier unterschiedlichen Aufgaben. Die Grundlage bildet die konkrete Definition der Anforderungen an die Datenqualität von allen Usergruppen, die mit den Daten arbeiten. Abhängig von den individuellen Ansprüchen an das Ergebnis müssen hier im B2B-Datenaudit verschiedene Kriterien berücksichtigt werden. Welche Daten sollen erfasst werden, und welchen Ansprüchen sollen sie gerecht werden? In dieser Phase definiert jede Usergruppe u. a. Umfang, Datentiefe, Einsatz und Nutzen der benötigten Daten. Diese Informationen trägt das Projektteam zusammen und erstellt den Anforderungskatalog.

Im zweiten Schritt geht es um die Analyse der aktuell vorliegenden Datensätze vor dem Hintergrund der zuvor definierten Anforderungen. Es wird also anhand von Checklisten überprüft, inwiefern die bereits bestehenden Daten den festgelegten Qualitätsanforderungen entsprechen. Sind die Daten vollständig, gibt es Lücken und wie steht es um die Einheitlichkeit der Daten? Als Resultat dieser Datenanalyse werden alle Qualitätsprobleme des jetzigen Datenbestands festgehalten und priorisiert. Nach der Anlage eines Backups erfolgt nun die eigentliche Umsetzung der Bereinigung und Anreicherung. Die folgende Grafik zeigt exemplarisch den Prozess der Datenbankbereinigung:

 

Infografik: Stationen des Stammdatenmanagements (copyright beDirect, 2022)

U-Bahn Plan der Datenbankbereinigung.
Step by Step zur Datenbankpflege: Adressen bereinigen, anreichern und überwachen.

 

Der letzte Schritt ist die Wahrung der erreichten Datenbankqualität. Durch regelmäßiges Monitoring kann der Status Quo der Informationen erhalten bleiben. Die Investition in Zeit und Geld in das Monitoring ist im Verhältnis zur initialen Datenbankbereinigung vergleichsweise gering, aber bei ca. 1 Mio. Veränderungen bei deutschen Firmen im Jahr durch Adressänderungen, Geschäftsführerwechsel oder Insolvenzen/Löschungen notwendig.

Abschließende Ergänzungen zur Datenbankbereinigung

Als Fazit lässt sich festhalten, dass die gezielte Bereinigung Ihrer Datenbank zahlreiche Benefits Ihrem Unternehmen bietet. Durch die Verfügbarkeit von korrekten und relevanten Datensätzen wird der Sales entlastet und gleichzeitig in die Lage versetzt zielorientiert zu akquirieren. Ihre Marketingkampagnen und SEA-Aktivitäten (z. B. Match Audiences) fokussieren sich auf erfolgversprechendes Adresspotenzial und sind daher effizienter.

Sowohl ich als auch die anderen Datenbankexperten von beDirect stehen Ihnen bei diesem Vorhaben als fachkundiger und erfahrener Partner zur Seite. Wir übernehmen für Sie die gesamte Vorbereitung und die praktische Umsetzung der Datenbereinigung. Beachten Sie unsere How-to-Tipps! 

Diese und andere Themen werden auch in unseren Webinarangebot besprochen: Regelmäßig informieren wir live über unsere Produkte und Möglichkeiten im optimalen Umgang mit B2B -Adressen, Stammdaten- und Zielgruppenmanagement.

 

Quellen:
How to improve your data quality, Gartner
B2B-datenmanagement, jk-development

Die unternehmensweit nutzbare Datenbank, beDirect
Was ist Datenbereinigung? bigdata-insider

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Autor André Schmidt

Head of Direct Sales

In seinen 16 Jahren bei beDirect hat er die heutigen beDirect-CRM-Lösungen maßgeblich mit geprägt.

Er und sein Team beraten Sie rund um das Thema Data Management. Dies erstreckt sich von optimal konfigurierten Standard- über kundenindividuelle bis komplett neuentwickelte Lösungen.

Jetzt unseren Newsletter abonnieren!

Der beDirect Newsletter liefert Ihnen regelmäßig aktuelles Wissen zu Unternehmensinformationen, Marketingaktivitäten und Branchennews.
Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden und melden Sie sich gleich an!